# ICAHN SCHOOL OF MEDICINE AT MOUNT SINAI FACULTY COUNCIL Minutes July 15, 2013

**In Attendance:** Drs. Barnett, Choudhri, Evans, Felsenfeld, Filizola, Gibbs, Haroutunian, Hausman, Kim-Schluger, Ragnarsson, Shim-Chiang, Teitelbaum; Ms. Schneier

**Guests:** Drs. Aaronson, Bieker, Burakoff, Han, Hof, Klein, Mlodzick, Nestler, Nguyen plus family and friends of award recipients.

## I. Approval of Minutes

With the addition of Dr. Ambrose's name to the attendance list, the minutes of the May 1, 2013 meeting of the Faculty Council were unanimously approved.

#### II. Arthur Klein, M.D.

Dr. Klein, President of the Mount Sinai Health System, described his career and then provided an overview of the proposed Continuum transaction. The combination offers many advantages, including:

- Market growth
- More physician relationships
- Unification of practices
- Aggregation of many physicians into faculty practices or physician practices
- Complementary departments

A service line model, popular nationwide, will align clinical and administrative components.

## III. Council Leadership Transition

President-Elect Tanvir Choudhri has assumed the role of council President.

## IV. Faculty Council Committee Updates

#### **Benefits Committee**

Dr. Haroutunian reported on two Human Resources meetings organized to review the 2014 benefits package. A key change will be additional options, i.e., a basic plan similar to what we have now, and enhanced plans with graded scales. In 2015 the United relationship will be evaluated, with ACO changes and Sinai networking as major considerations. Dr. Choudhri noted that cost control is an important goal for leaders. Council members agreed that a formal Council meeting focused on benefits to discuss planned changes would be desirable.

## V. Faculty Council Awards

Awards were presented to the following recipients:

Senior Faculty Awards:

o James J. Bieker, Ph.D., Professor of Developmental and Regenerative Biology

 $\circ~$  Patrick R. Hof, M.D., Professor of Neuroscience

Junior Faculty Awards:

- Ming-Hu Han, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pharmacology and Systems Therapeutics
- Scott Nguyen, M.D., Assistant Professor of Surgery

Lifetime Achievement Award:

• Stuart Aaronson, M.D., Professor of Oncological Sciences

A reception to honor the recipients followed immediately after the presentations.